Caleb Ewan won the ascending Tour of Turkey, Danny van Poppel third

Caleb Ewan won the ascending Tour of Turkey, Danny van Poppel third

Friday, April 15, 2022 at 1:33 p.m.

Caleb Ewan won the sixth stage of the Tour of Turkey. After more than 200 kilometers, the fastest finish in the Eceabat was the fastest Australian sprinter in the Lotto Soudal, ahead of Jasper Philipsen and Danny van Poppel.

The first steering group of the day emerged on several slides, but the experiment of five, including Alessandro Santaromita and Ahmet Örken, was not limited to this. A new attack by Vojtech Repa (Equipo Kern Pharma), Onur Balkan, Batuhan Özgüri (both Sakarya BB), Edgar Nieto (Spor Toto) and Julian Borresch (Saris Rouvy Sauerland) was given a peloton.

Classic chasse french fries
The five escaped the peloton more than three minutes ahead. Spor Toto rider Oguzhan Tiryaki had escaped it. However, the Turk could not connect. The team then decided to drop out of the Nieto lead group, but together it turned out to be an impossible mission for the teammates. They were caught quickly.

At 40 kilometers from the finish, the fearless one broke into pieces when the wind got free on the big bridge, but after that everything came together again. The gap with the steering group, where Özgür was no longer able to keep up with the pace of Repa, the Balkans and Borresch, narrowed rapidly due to these clashes. Nine kilometers before the finish, a general regrouping followed.

Ewan keeps Philipsen and Van Poppel away
Peloton then prepared for the four-kilometer ascending final toward the Eceabat finish. Patrick Bevini’s Israel-Premier Tech took the lead, but Lotto Soudal showed up. The train of the Belgian team chose the right moment and beat Ewan well.

Ewan was able to start his sprint late and kept the upcoming Danny van Poppel behind. For the Australian, it was his second round victory in this round. Van Poppel was favored by BORA Hansgroel Sam Bennett and took third place. Jasper Philipsen came in from the distance and took second place as he pushed the wheel just before Van Poppel to the finish line.

Patrick Bevin hoped with the bonuses to approach classification leader Eduardo Sepúlveda, but finished fourth and was out of the bonuses. The Argentine remains the leader in 11 seconds ahead of Bevin. Jay Vine is third on Sepúlveda in 25 seconds.

Leave a Comment